Abs Writes A Lot

My name's Abs… and I write a lot.

NaNo NoGo? No Way!

on November 13, 2013

I haven’t written a blog in a looooong time that wasn’t a cover reveal or review blog for a fellow Swoon Romance author, so I thought I’d mix it up a bit and talk about my latest writing project! Are you excited? I know you are! 😀

I’ve been a writer for most of my life, yet I’ve never participated in National Novel Writing Month, NaNoWriMo for short. The idea behind this is that you write a novel, or 50,000 words, during the 30 days of November. To reach that goal, the NaNoWriMo.org site suggests 1,666 words per day every day. Obviously this is Satanic and undoable. 😉 Haha.

But seriously, it is doable, if one persists and writes a little bit every day. I started off great! By some miracle of the writing gods, I had (what I thought was) an amazing idea on Halloween, when I went home at lunchtime and my sister was watching “It” as in Stephen King’s creepy-as-all-hell story about a demonic clown tormenting a group of kids in Maine, and then tormenting them again when they grew up. I mean, seriously, is there anything scarier than a damn clown?

Anyhoo, as I was driving back to my office, I started thinking about how I’ve always wanted to write a book about a group of friends growing up in rural North Carolina. And then I thought what if this group of friends accidentally awakened something really evil, like Pennywise, only not a clown, because I don’t wanna scare the living crap out of myself here. (And don’t think I wasn’t checking my back seat constantly to make sure Pennywise wasn’t lurking back there!) So voila! My idea was born! And that’s all I’m gonna say ’cause I don’t wanna give too much away. Needless to say, it’s a definite departure from my romance novel, GOING HOME AGAIN.

So I had this brilliant idea and I was all


And the first few days, I wrote at least 1,500 a day. WooHOO!!! 😀

Then, my old car started stressing me out and acting like she was gonna kick the bucket. The whole trading in my car process was difficult. I had the car since 2006 so it was kind of hard to say goodbye. Got a little verklempt, to be honest….

But! I have a new car now, and so things should be going just dandy with my writing now that that’s out of the way, right?

Not so much.

Alas, I am determined to finish at least a first draft by the end of this month. Playing NaNo by my own rules, thank you very much. Writing when I can, and trying to write extra words to make up for the days I missed! NaNoWriMo will be like Loki when I’m done!!!

So, whenever you see me dilly-dallying about on Twitter or Facebook, remind me I need to WRITE!!!!

One response to “NaNo NoGo? No Way!

  1. Kay Kauffman says:

    Good luck! Even with car stress, it sounds like you’re doing better than I am. Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

