Abs Writes A Lot

My name's Abs… and I write a lot.

Going Home Again “cast”!

on September 24, 2013

So, on Sunday, I took part in a blog tour for the release of Jamie Grey’s debut novel, ULTRAVIOLET CATASTROPHE. As part of this tour I picked a “cast” for the characters in her book. I’ve already created a Pinterest board with my dream cast for my own debut novel, GOING HOME AGAIN.

I thought it might be kind of fun to share with all of you, including those who don’t follow me on Pinterest, so you can see how the characters looked in my head while I was writing them. How did you picture them? Anything like these folks? Let me know in the comments! πŸ˜€

First up, of course, is Alyssa. She’s the main character after all. I know a lot of you pictured her like me, and I guess usually when I read a novel that’s written in first person, I often picture the main character as the author, too. But I decided to look up an actress who would be suitable in the unlikely event that GHA was someday made into a movie. She couldn’t be too skinny, too drop-dead gorgeous, although I wanted her to be beautiful in an unconventional way. Booyah! I found the wonderful “Happy Endings” actress, Casey Wilson!!! πŸ™‚

I kinda love her. ❀

Michael Day. Le sigh. Anyone who knows me knows that Michael is LOOSELY based on my favorite New Kid on the Block, Jordan Knight.

He’s so perty. πŸ˜€ And here’s my favorite pic with him, just because:

Abs & JK in Nashville-cropped

Okay, moving on… if I had to pick an actual ACTOR to play Michael Day, I’ve decided it would be Zachary Levi. He can sing and he’s a big dork. He would definitely work! πŸ™‚

Now for some of the supporting characters! I had a hard time finding someone who could play Michael’s wife, Tina Downey (she kept her last name πŸ˜‰ ). She’d have to be gorgeous, of course, but also old enough to be Michael’s wife at nearly 40 years old. So, finally, I decided on Brook Langton. Give her a fake tan, pull her hair back in a tight ponytail 24/7, she could be my Tina!

Tina- cropped

Mike’s friend from back in the day and Alyssa’s present-day friend, Matt Edwards, is (again, no surprise to those that know me), Donnie Wahlberg! πŸ™‚

Haley, one of Alyssa’s best friends, also plays a big role in the story, and in my head, she’s my best friend since kindergarten, Angela Williams Futrell. πŸ˜‰
My beautiful BFF

However, if I had to pick an actress to play her in a movie, it’d have to be Alyssa Milano.

They look alike, no???

I guess that’s enough for now. Those are all the major characters. So what do y’all think??? πŸ˜€

One response to “Going Home Again “cast”!

  1. stephaniehaefner says:

    Well, I definitely knew it was Jordan πŸ˜‰ I just started it, so I haven’t met any of the other characters yet, but now I have some faces to go with the book! πŸ™‚ Thanks!

Leave a Reply

