Abs Writes A Lot

My name's Abs… and I write a lot.

Ultraviolet Catastrophe Blog Tour!!

on September 22, 2013

After all of the wonderful bloggers participated in the blog tour for my debut novel, GOING HOME AGAIN, I decided I wanted to do as many blog tours as I can in the future because 1) they’re fun! and 2) I’d love to give another writer the same pleasure I got from reading what other writers think of my book! 🙂

So, first up, is Jamie Grey’s wonderful debut, ULTRAVIOLET CATASTROPHE. What struck me first about this book was its cover– so very cool!
ultraviolet catastrophe

The story itself is not something I would normally read– YA sci-fi– but I was very lucky to get an ARC (advance review copy) and I’m glad I did. I’m not very much into sci-fi, I’ll admit, but I found that there were definitely pieces of this story I could relate to, and I know many teens could also. The feeling of not fitting in anywhere, feeling alienated from your parents (even if they were trying to protect you by lying to you), crushing on the hot guy nerd. I think at its heart, it’s a wonderful story anyone could relate to.

So, in addition to my brief review, I also thought it’d be kind of a different and fun twist to give you all a glimpse into how I pictured the characters as I read this story; in other words, who I would cast in these roles.

Lexie: Nicole Munoz

I think she has just the right level of gorgeousness but it’d still be believable that she wouldn’t at first fit in at her new school. She’s pretty but isn’t aware that she’s pretty. I loved that about Lexie! And, of course, also that she’s super smart!

Asher: Liam Hemsworth

Maybe he’s a little too old, but I couldn’t help seeing Asher as good ol’ Gale from The Hunger Games. With the intense blue eyes and perfectly messy hair, he’d be a perfect Asher! And those nerdy T-shirts would look great on him too. 😀

Dr. Kepler: Oscar Isaac

It took me a while to find an actor who looked even remotely how I pictured Lexie’s dad, Dr. Will Kepler. This guy fits the bill… plus he looks like he could be Nicole Munoz’s dad so he could be Lexie’s dad as well! 😉

Mama Kepler: Lisa Edelstein

I’m kind of cheating here because I found this actress for a Pinterest board for my own YA (as-yet-unpublished) novel. I think she’s a perfect choice for Lexie’s mom as well.

Max: Cameron Monaghan

Back to the kids! Max was a really hard one for me to find, for some reason, but this kid got closer than any others I found. If he could grow stubble like Max, I think he’d be a pretty good fit! 🙂

Zella: Zoe Kravitz

Perfect for bitchy Zella, don’tcha think??? 😀

And last but not least:
Amy: Meaghan Jette Martin

She just has that “All-American/popular girl/cheerleader” look, doesn’t she? 🙂

So, there you have it: my ideal cast for Jamie Grey’s ULTRAVIOLET CATASTROPHE!!! I’m curious to know if anyone else who’s read the book sees the characters in the same way I do. If not, that’s cool, because that is the beauty of books, isn’t it? 🙂 You can picture everything exactly as you want.

Before you go, here’s the deets on the book and on Jamie. Buy this book when it releases Tuesday!!! 🙂

Book Name: Ultraviolet Catastrophe (UVC)
Book Genre: YA Sci-fi
Book release date: September 2013
Ultraviolet Catastrophe on Goodreads:
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18041050-ultraviolet-catastrophe
Ultraviolet Catastrophe on Amazon:
To come.
Ultraviolet Catastrophe on Barnes and Noble:
To come.

Ultraviolet Catastrophe book blurb: Quantum Electrodynamics. String Theory. Schrödinger’s cat. For sixteen-year-old Lexie Kepler, they’re just confusing terms in her science textbooks, until she finds out that her parents have been drugging her to suppress her outrageous IQ. Now Branston Academy, a school run by the world’s most powerful scientists, has tracked her down and is dying for her to attend – as a research subject.
She takes refuge at Quantum Technologies, a secret scientific community where her father works as a top-notch scientist, and begins her new life as “girl genius” at Quantum High. But the assignments at her new school make the Manhattan Project look like preschool – and Lexie barely survived freshman algebra.
Her first big assignment – creating an Einstein-Rosen bridge – is also her first chance to prove she can hold her own with the rest of QT’s prodigies. But while working with the infuriatingly hot Asher Rosen, QT’s teen wonder, Lexie uncovers a mistake in their master equation. Instead of a wormhole, the machine they’re building would produce deadly ultraviolet rays that could destroy the world.
When the lead scientist on their project turns up as a popsicle in the cryo chamber, Lexie learns that the “mistake” in the equation is actually a carefully crafted plan to sabotage Quantum Technologies. And all signs point to Branston Academy being the culprit. Now Lexie and Asher have to use their combined brainpower to stop Branston from stealing the plans and selling the doomsday device to the highest bidder, before everyone at QT is caught in the ultraviolet catastrophe.

About the author Jamie Grey:
Jamie_Grey_Headshot
Jamie Grey spent most of her childhood writing stories about princesses who saved the day and pretending to be a daring explorer. It wasn’t until much later that she realized she should combine the two. Now, as a tech-obsessed gamer geek, her novels mix amazing scientific developments, future worlds, and the remarkable characters that live in them.
Jamie lives in Michigan with her significant other and their pets, who luckily tolerate her overspending on tea, books, and video games. You can learn more about her at http://www.jamiegreybooks.com, or follow her on twitter via @jamie_grey.
Jamie on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4687517.Jamie_Grey
Jamie on Twitter: https://twitter.com/Jamie_Grey
Jamie on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jamiegreybooks

Join in on the buzz!
Ultraviolet Catastrophe street team is open for members!
Sign up to join in on the buzz surround Ultraviolet Catastrophe! Be the first to read it, hear the latest news, and win fun swag! You don’t want to miss out!
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1IOpZTGms5tjCnh27Au8yEnjjk_yejiHFrrGKmcfefd4/viewform

One response to “Ultraviolet Catastrophe Blog Tour!!

  1. […] ← Ultraviolet Catastrophe Blog Tour!! […]

Leave a Reply

