Abs Writes A Lot

My name's Abs… and I write a lot.

A special treat :)

on August 1, 2013

I promised everyone that once my author page on Facebook reached 100 likes (https://www.facebook.com/AbbyCavenaughAuthor), I would post something fun. Well, here it is and I hope you all enjoy it!

As most of you know (or should know, as much as I’ve talked about it!), my debut novel, GOING HOME AGAIN, releases Aug. 20 from Swoon Romance. The basic story is this:

In high school, it was doubtful Michael Day knew Alyssa Jones existed. 
Twenty years later, when the now-famous pop star returns home to coastal North Carolina, Alyssa gets a second chance to make a first impression on Michael.On sabbatical from his failing marriage, Michael agrees to an interview with Alyssa, a journalist for the local tourist magazine.When the chemistry between them ignites, Alyssa and Michael are hit with the harsh reality that he isn’t yet free to love her.With Michael’s wife and son still very much in the picture, can Alyssa hold out until he ends his marriage for good? Or will she risk it all for a second chance with the one who got away?

CoverFinalMD-GoingHomeAgain

To help build the anticipation (hopefully) and give you some insight into the characters, I give you a snippet of Alyssa’s interview with Michael, something that’s not published in the novel itself. I hope you’ll find this as fun as I do! And maybe you’ll even start to fall for Michael Day yourselves! 😉

Alyssa: How about some easier questions now? 

Michael: I’m all for that. Bring it on.

Alyssa: Since you are a pop star yourself–

Michael: *groans* Can we just call me a solo artist? Not sure I like the visual the words “pop star” bring about…

Alyssa: What, no peeing in restaurant mop buckets or flipping off paparazzi for you?

Michael: Not in the last fifteen years.

Alyssa: Right. *laughs* But, my question…

Michael: Yes, back to that.

Alyssa: As a famous solo artist, I’m curious what’s on your iPod right now? Do you listen to your own music, or something else?

Michael: Oh God, no. Never my own stuff.

Alyssa: Why not? I love your stuff! I mean, your music.

Michael: I hear myself all the time. I’ve heard all the bad versions of the songs before they make it onto the album. Guess I’m a perfectionist. So… well, let me see, what is on my iPod? Oh. You’ll remember this one, “Tender Love” by Force MDs.

Alyssa: Oh. Yeah. That was the first time I saw you sing… back in high school, in that talent show.

Michael: Yeah, that was my favorite song back in the day. Like I told you, when I sang that in the talent show, I knew I could make it. *long pause* What else…? I used to practice to a lot of Luther Vandross. He had the most incredible voice. If I could sing even half as well as him… damn. I got “If Only For One Night,” “A House Is Not A Home,” some of his really old ones.

Alyssa: Oh yeah, he was the man. By the way, I think you’ve got a pretty incredible voice, too.

Michael: Well, not Luther Vandross-good. And I got a lot of Prince, too. The Temptations, Stylistics… old-school jams.

Alyssa: So it’s all oldies on there? 

Michael: Oldies? God, I guess I am old.

Alyssa: Not what I meant. I mean–

Michael: I know what you meant, no worries. I do have some new stuff, too, like Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines” and Justin Timberlake. My son Sammy, he  loves this “I Don’t Care… I Love It!” song by Icona Pop… we dance around the house to it all the time. *chuckles*

Alyssa: You sure you don’t love it too?

Michael: Maybe a little…

Here’s some of the music on Michael’s iPod, if you want to check it out!
*** Wow. Prince has apparently had all his videos removed from YouTube!***
Fine! Here’s Jordan Knight from New Kids on the block singing it, just because.
Links:
Abby on Twitter: https://twitter.com/abswrites
Abby on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AbbyCavenaughAuthor
Publisher Website: www.myswoonromance.com
Going Home Again on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18242120-going-home-again
4 responses to “A special treat :)

  1. I love it, Wombie! 🙂 Such a cool idea for a blog. And I love all those songs, as you well know. 😉

  2. cjburright says:

    Fun post, Abby – and a great peek into the world of Michael and Alyssa!

  3. I already like him! Cute interview!

  4. Kay Kauffman says:

    This was awesome! I can’t wait for this to be out – it sounds like EXACTLY the sort of book I’d love. 😀

Leave a Reply

